Home » Uncategorized » The devalued UK Pound and other thoughts.

The devalued UK Pound and other thoughts.

Another blog from:       Anthonyslark@yahoo.co.uk

Phone:                              +351-92029-2637

One of the best moves I ever made was last year when I could exchange my British Pounds for 1.42 Euros in Lisbon. I decided to keep my savings in Euros instead of Pounds. Now in Lisbon, one UK Pound is almost equal to one Portuguese Euro. You can work out how much better off I am because of that. Now I think in Euros and of course spend in Euros. It wasn’t long ago when I needed to translate all amounts into Nepalese rupees but now it’s Euros.

tagus-ferry-at-cacilhas

Soon we should be moving into a different apartment on the other side of the River Tagus in Lisbon. The land is much flatter over that side but Lisbon City is all about hills, steep hills, and lots of climbing up and down. To go anywhere from here we need to climb hills. All first time visitors to Lisbon are amazed at all the steep climbs they have to do here. There is no metro line under the river but we have an excellent ferry service across the river from Cais do Sodre Metro Station to Cacilhas on the other side. The journey time is just 8 minutes and costs only €1.40 one way.  The other side of the river has a surface

almada-metro-train

metro which is very modern, inexpensive and efficient but is not connected to  the Lisbon City metro system. Kumar, Luma and the three girls will probably work in Lisbon City so we are trying to find a good apartment within walking distance of the ferry/metro station to cut down on daily travelling time and expense. Kumar must get his EU permanent residency first and then he is planning a Pan European tour, especially of Switzerland and Austria.

My travelling days are sadly now well over and I’m struggling trying to accept that. Now I will spend my remaining days being happy and enjoying life. I want to see all family members well settled and happy and prosperous.

The days are getting noticeably shorter here now and temperatures have dived. After the many hot, dry months of summer, it’s a welcome relief.  The first thing I want in the next apartment is airconditioning. Lisbon is one of the sunniest places in Europe and we go for months at a time without rain here. It rained two days ago after six months of sunshine. I wish it was more balanced.

 

4 thoughts on “The devalued UK Pound and other thoughts.

  1. My pension has suffered in the exchange rate!! It’s miserable at the moment. Our days are shorter too but the heat doesn’t subside. I am sorry you feel your travelling days are over. It’s never too late!!

    • It’s terrible, Barbara. Last year I got €1.42 to my £ but now in Lisbon I get just over one Euro to each Pound. We have to tighten our belts I think.

  2. Hi Dai. I missed a few of your blog posts, I wonder how because I think it didn’t appear on my reader.. Or maybe I just missed it because I was inactive from wordpress for a few days.
    Oh what a brilliant decision you made Dai! 42 cents is a big difference indeed. So I am happy for you that you got better value our of your pounds. Lisbon really sounds like my place of place Dai – although I admit that 30 plus temperatures can be tiring. But it’s so cold here that I am always drawn to warmer climates. How is the process for coming to Portugal going for your family, Dai? I am enjoying beautiful autumn colors here, but we haven’t seen sun in about a month (just last Sunday was sunny and I went to the park)..

    • Hi Pooja. I just woke up after an afternoon nap. I’ve also been away from the internet a lot recently. Bringing the family is painfully slow but it is progressing. It’s still going to be a long time before they’re here. You know, Pooja, that I’m thoroughly enjoying this cooler weather because we had six months of hot sunshine and no rain so it was getting too much for me. Now I can sleep much better too, well until March/April.

Leave a Reply

